Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Glow Plugs 101 Tutorial

Old 03-17-2013, 10:41 AM
Chevy_Eater
Logistics Pro
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Post Glow Plugs 101 Tutorial

We've been getting a LOT of the "I need help with my glow plugs" posts lately. And some of these new members aren't finding what they need in the glow plug stickies. Rather than constantly repeating the same ol over and over I just wrote up a long winded tutorial that'll bore you to tears. I'll post it here in a second, I think I covered it pretty well, but feel free to add whatever input is needed.

Old 03-17-2013, 10:46 AM
Chevy_Eater
Logistics Pro
Glow Plugs 101

Disclaimer, use my advise at your own risk, I am not an electrician, but I play one on the Internet.

There are two kinds of glow plug systems used on the IDI engine. The old style (OS) is on the 1983 to 1986 trucks/vans. The new style (NS) is on the 1987 to 1994.5 trucks/vans.

Both systems consist of a controller, a relay, and the glow plugs (GP). The controller determines via engine temperature when and how long the GPs need to be on prior to engine start. The controller then sends a signal to the relay activating the relay and thus providing power to the GPs.

On the OS, the controller is screwed into the rear of the driver’s side head. The relay is on the passenger side inner fender:

Red circle is the GP relay, yellow circle is the starter relay.

OS Controller & GPs:

On the NS the relay is mounted to the top of the controller. The controller is behind the intake manifold:

Blue arrow is the rely, red is the controller.

Diagnosis is your friend when working on anything, guessing and throwing parts at a problem is a waste of time and money. Let’s chase down your problem.