6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Really with this??

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 08:01 AM
BFlemsr
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Really with this??

I have an '04 6.0 diesel. Just recently it started to shudder at around 50mph. Sometimes it idles rough sometimes not. Clearly seems like and engine miss but since im not good with diesels I need a few suggestions. I cleaned the EGR and am thinking about cleaning the turbo also. Put new fuel filters in, same thing.
It shakes and shudders until I get mad and mash the gas then it seems to clear up until I try cruising at one speed. While its doing this I have basically no acceleration, meaning I can push the petal slowly for what seems like forever before I get a response. Put a new tranny in last year.
maybe an injector issue? Maybe the Turbo? It is a bone stock 6.0

Old 11-04-2012, 09:24 AM
Rusty Axlerod
Lead Driver
Received 137 Likes on 80 Posts
Your 6.0 has a lot of computer controlled devices and sensors. It would be shot in the dark to guess what's up with it based on the info you provided. Some sort of monitor is necessary to see what values the sensors are reading and to pull any trouble codes from the engines computer.
The third thread down in the 6.0 forum is the Tech Folder. Look around in there and you will find a lot of info. If you plan to work on your truck yourself, it's a great place to find relavent info on almost any system on your truck. Also we have a contributor here named Bismic who monitors this thread: https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/7...ew-owners.html <----click here. Post a message that you would like a copy of the spreadsheet and include a e-mail address for him to send it to. The spread sheet covers all kinds of info and resources to help you keep your truck running.
On your current issue, i would look in this thread: https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/9...condition.html