1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

2WD and new boat

Search this Thread

Old 08-18-2012, 07:55 AM
86scotty
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2WD and new boat

I have an 02 E350 extended body with the 5.4, 2WD. I drive a truck for a living and have had bunches of campers/trailers. I'm not worried about towing a boat, but launching/loading it actually. I just bought a 10 year old ski boat for the family, which we've always wanted. I'm curious for other boat owners if you have any trouble at boat ramps with the 2WD? I guess I'm just a little paranoid about slipping off, and I've got to educate my wife on either driving the boat or the van, or I can do the old 'rope tied to the bumper' one-man method.
My take on 2WD vans is that they spin on wet ground when it's level, I'm worried about how the van will do on angled, possibly wet boat ramps.
Experience? Ideas?

thanks

Old 08-18-2012, 11:17 AM
joshofalltrades
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you have a few factors to consider here, including: condition of ramp, weight on drive axle, weight of boat, etc.
if you're on a narrow, torn up, wet ramp, you'll have a lot more trouble than if you find a nice wide new ramp to launch on.
from there, the more weight you have on your drive axle, the better. if you want the best possible traction, you could add a locking diff such as the powertrax no-slip that i have in mine. i NEVER do the one-wheel-peel - i don't slip until both wheels are unable to hold.

Old 08-18-2012, 02:12 PM
95e150CW
Elder User
Vans are no more likely to slip than pickups. In fact, they may be less likely, as they are heavier over the rear axle. Plenty of vans with open rear diffs have dropped boats in water. I've used a jeep cherokee to launch a 24 foot pontoon boat before. You just need to control your throttle, and make sure you have tires that are not sitting at their wear bars.

If it really bothers you, you can put a locker or LSD in.