2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another cam phasers question 2004

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2012, 12:11 PM
jagarcia89
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Another cam phasers question 2004

So I found a truck I wanna buy, its a 2004 fx4 lifted good price, 112k. It has a very slight tick (from my searches and research seems like it may be cam phasers)

My question is, are there better aftermarket replacent phasers? if so where do i get them. Googling resulted in only 2005-2010 phasers and no results for 04 and a tech bulletin states you cannot use 05 parts on an 04.

Also what happens if I just let it go? Will worse damage occur?

I am an auto student so I have access to a garage, knowledge, etc... so if I can find parts I could probably do it. Also what can be done to prevent this? In another forum a guy claimed shimming the oil pressure relief valve to boost oil pressure. He claims this fixed the problem on many motors and prevented it on others. Anyone hear of this?

Old 02-03-2012, 02:10 PM
dixie_boysles
Junior User
the only aftermarket i ever seen for them is a limiter that goes on them that basically limits the phasers timing

Old 02-03-2012, 03:31 PM
ChrisCarter
Senior User
Originally Posted by dixie_boysles
the only aftermarket i ever seen for them is a limiter that goes on them that basically limits the phasers timing
Limiters has to be programmed to the ECM. As far as preventing it I have yet to hear a 08 do it. The updated parts won't let this happen. Its been advised many times to use a motorcraft oil filter, and put 5w20 in it. I personally use motorcraft durablend. Ford knows its parts more then anyone else out there, so use ford parts to put back on it.