Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Got a 1989 F150, thinking about a 2000 F250 diesel

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 03:28 PM
SCRebel
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Got a 1989 F150, thinking about a 2000 F250 diesel

Hey guys! I currently have a 1989 f150 supercab, 5.8, 4x4, AOD auto trans, Solid axle swap. The trans was rebuilt about 6 years ago, I just rebuilt the engine a month ago.

I am a college student, and within the next year I will have to transfer to a college 4 hrs away, in the foothills, to finish my degree. In order to save money I am towing a 7,000 pound camper and staying at a camp ground to make it as cheap as possible. I know I will have to tow the camper at least 4 times a year.

I don't know how well the F150 will hold up, and I am looking at a 2000 model f250, 4x4, auto, 7.3 turbo diesel. How much money will I be to looking to pay? Do you think the F150 will be fine? Thanks!

I posted this in the 1999-2003 7.3 diesel forum also, to get as much info as possible.

Old 02-02-2012, 03:30 PM
Chris Guthro
Senior User
Id say the f150 would handle it just fine! arent they rated for like 8000? plus u got the 351

Old 02-02-2012, 03:40 PM
fosgate forever
Senior User
Go for it, you'll enjoy towing with the diesel much more then the truck. Expect to pay around 6-10k depending on mileage and rear axle. Dually's tend to go for far less the SRW trucks. There are a few 120k mile ones around here for about 8k

Old 02-02-2012, 03:42 PM
strokin'_tatsch
Post Fiend
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Around here a decent '99-'03 F-250 auto 4x4 extended cab with around 200k miles will go for around $10k-12k. Crew cabs will go around $12k-13.5k. Regular cabs can be found around $9k-10k.