2002 EX Overland build - THE KRAKEN

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2021, 09:43 PM
Cardboardcoop
5th Wheeling
Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts
2002 EX Overland build - THE KRAKEN

Hello fellow EX folks. I’m building out a 2002 V10 EX

I’m in progress and this is ultimately not just a bad *** rig but also a proof of concept for future builds.

you can follow the build @cooperskraken on IG and FB

Im taking out the third row seats as well as the smaller passenger side second row fold up seat. I’ll also be removing the rear side panels and replacing them with custom welded aluminum boxes for storage.

The rear bed of the EX will have a custom built storage utility bed slide that will house all the water, electrical, cooktop, sink and battery chargers.

I might be interested in adding an inverter as well as an on-demand hot water system. Still thinking about that.

if you’re interested in this build please follow along, ask questions and I’ll make sure to keep this thread going.

I am not a PRO, just a dude that likes to build and learn new skills.

The following 6 users liked this post by Cardboardcoop:
Antonm, Bently_Coop, jetkit, kcundieff, kostkafex, WE3ZS and 1 others liked this post. (Show less...)
Old 12-16-2021, 10:02 AM
Antonm
Laughing Gas
Received 362 Likes on 234 Posts
Cool build idea. I’m planning an overland inspired style build for my Ex ( by overland inspired think like how mall crawler Jeeps are rock crawler inspired type thing)

Could you keep this thread updated periodically for those of us that don’t do Facebook or IG please?
​​​​​.

Old 12-16-2021, 10:07 AM
WE3ZS
World Famous Mod
Received 833 Likes on 572 Posts
Will the fresh water tank be stationary or does it live on the slide out tray? Seems to me that stationary would be better as it would get a lot of weight off the slides at all times, both in and out. You would have to reroute the water outlet and fill ports to a fixed position on the side.