1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

1980 f-100 restoration project

Search this Thread

Old 07-07-2011, 11:56 AM
orkinman
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1980 f-100 restoration project

Hey guys, I am pretty new to the classic car world and already having fun. A couple of months ago, I found a 1980 F-100 custom with 70,000 miles, so I had to check it out. It had been sitting on a deer lease for 3 years and fired right up with a set of jumpers and a little priming of the gas line. Originally a small town water district owned the truck so its as plain as you can find. However, my ford buddies told me that the 300-6 with a 3 in the tree was about as indestructable as they come, so I bought it. (Indestructable is a good selling point for me, I tend to break things easily)

The first step of the project was to unstick the brakes.... which failed when I found out that the brake fluid had turned to sludge. Long story a little shorter I decided to replace everything (master cylinder, lines, calipers, wheel cylinders)

Other things I have replaced:

ECU (correction, a friend chewed me out for calling it that since the truck in carbureted, but I still don't know what it's called... doesnt matter)
oil
oil filter
rotor cap
rotro button
spark plugs
spark plug wires
various light bulbs
pre-heater tube (emissions >_< )
tires
in-line fuel filter

items on the to-do list:

adjust the clutch
replace belts hoses (they still look ok for now though)
replace battery cables
adjust the valves (a little ticking right now)

the problem I am concerned about right now is the dummy light for the oil lights up at idle after the engine has warmed up. (currently using 10w-30) I'm thinking that a heavier oil might solve the problem since its freakin hot here in Texas right now.

If anybody knows something i should be aware of I will be taking notes

Old 07-07-2011, 12:08 PM
Fordzilla80
Postmaster
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts