General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

shifting

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2003, 10:24 AM
41Clay
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
shifting

I'm a pretty young guy compared to some of you guys, so I have little experience with driving beyond the basics. I have heard about his thing called clutchless shifting and I was just wondering what it takes to do this. Mainly upshifting. Is this even possible? Or can you just downshift without the clutch? I've never really played with it much or thought about it. Don't want to break my car either. Thanks.

Clayton

Old 03-28-2003, 10:35 AM
Carlene
Admom
Received 188 Likes on 116 Posts
shifting

Hi Clayton -

I had a clutchless stick shift car several years ago. Upshift, downshift, didn't matter. Not pushing the clutch in when shifting took some getting used but came in real handy when I broke my ankle.

That car was a blast and I never had to have a clutch put in, 60,000 + miles. Only reason I don't still have it is cause it didn't like the upsidedown swim in the canal we took it on. Go figure!

Off subject - how's your upholstry job coming along?

Old 03-28-2003, 10:36 AM
Waxy
Postmaster
shifting

Shifting without the clutch is not an advisable practice in today's synchromesh transmissions. It can be done, it's just a matter of learning match engine RPM to speed and timing the shift to be done at "no load" conditions, but you'd have to do it near perfect everytime. The dangers are shocking the drivetrain or damaging the synchromesh in the tranny. Use the clutch, it'll save you a big repair bill.

In heavy truck applications where there is no syncromesh, a clutchless shift is relatively simple and harmless, but even then, I'd suggest using the clutch, it just eliminates unnessary wear on the transmission and driveline when your shift isn't perfect, and no one shifts perfectly every time.