Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie needing towing help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2011, 01:46 PM
knowpow
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie needing towing help!

I am new to the truck and towing ordeal and need some help. If this is a repeat posting forgive me...I can't find what I'm looking for. I have a 1994 F150 4x4 with 5.0L, 3.55 gears and E4OD tranny. I just bought the truck and the tranny went a month later so I had no time to check the trucks capabilities. I've now had the tranny rebuilt with upgraded parts including a shift kit. It also has a cooler. I need to know my towing capacity for this set-up. My GVWR is 6100 #'s according to the sticker in the door jam. I am looking into a 29ft fifth wheel that has been gutted and would need to get it home to remodel. That will be the most the truck tows the camper( about 250 miles) one time. Of course the camper has brakes and I have a brake controller in the truck. Is it even possible to tow this camper with this truck? I appreciate all knowledge that can be passed my way. Thanks.

Old 02-14-2011, 01:59 PM
6CylBill
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Hi buddy! Welcome to FTE! Sounds like you got a really nice truck besides the transmission puking!

How much does your 5th wheel weigh?

From what I've read here you should be able to tow 4,000 lbs safely by way of factory towing specification ratings.

Is there lots of hills or mountains where you live?

PLEASE make sure your brakes are in good working order if you do attempt this.

Personally I think for one time your truck will be fine - assuming your brakes are good. Keep it slow, keep your transmission out of overdrive, and keep an eye out for your engine or transmission over heating. I would let the truck cool downevery so often pulling something that heavy. Just me.