longevity of bio

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 07:37 PM
jpr8771
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking longevity of bio

i am new to FTE and drive an f250. im interested in making my own BD. i live on a farm and would also like to produce enough for our equipment and maybe even get into producing some for some local farmers in the area.

first question...is a conversion kit necessary for trucks and farm equipment?

second how about longevity? ive done just a few hours of research
and find that a major downside is the deterioration of rubber in fuel lines and such..also maybe even some fuel filters (seals, ect.)....id like to hear what some of you guys have to say that supports or disproves this idea.

Old 01-15-2011, 08:23 PM
binuya
Fleet Mechanic

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Longevity of the biodiesel itself? It's good for 2-4 months, depending upon how it is stored, and at what temp. Mine lasts about 2-3 months before it begins to oxidize noticeably, mainly because I expose it to plenty of air with my drying method and bubble wash.

Yes, biodiesel attacks rubber. So anything rubber in the fuel system needs to be replaced with Viton components.(o-rings, hoses, gaskets,seals,etc)

Old 01-15-2011, 08:59 PM
jpr8771
New User
oh sorry yea that sounds misleading in the title but what i meant is longevity of vehicles on BD.

i have a 2010 f250..how much am i gonna spend having that done...and if anyone else could help with that answer, i would also like to have an idea of what it would cost me to have something like a basic john deere utility tractor ready to go?

Old 01-15-2011, 10:43 PM
fabmandelux
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by jpr8771
oh sorry yea that sounds misleading in the title but what i meant is longevity of vehicles on BD.