Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

98 explorer xlt whining.

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2011, 12:29 AM
Explorer 5.0
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
98 explorer xlt whining.

Hi guys. I just bought myself a 98 explorer xlt 5.0 V8. Got 230K on the clock, but seems pretty stout, motor seems ok, body and interior are good, and I picked her up at a good price. Got a couple small issues that I can live with, passenger side door lock, no lights on the cd player, etc, my only real gripe with it right now is this whining sound. Would seem to sound like diff whine to me, which I hear is a common problem on explorers, but im no expert. Here's the symptoms.

When I am on the gas at above 30 mph, it will start to whine, I'm pretty sure it's coming from the rear, but I could also be from the front too, not a 100%, but I plan on jacking her up and listening tomorrow. If I let off the gas, it will go away. If I'm on the highway, at lets say 70 and I let off, sometimes it will go away, sometimes it will wind down as I decelerate. It might be whining as the car downshifts to match the speed, not sure.

From the reading I've done, some people say a heavier gear oil will cure/calm down the problem, others say it doesn't work. Some say a rebuild with only bearings will fix it, others say you also have to get a new ring and pinion. Just trying to get a better understanding of what I'll have to do.

If I decide on swapping the diff, which one is the most reliable? Which ones work? If it's a common problem, I would like to avoid getting another bad one. Another question I have is , if disconnected the rear drive Shaft, could I use it as a FWD? ( I know nothing about explorers or AWD, I've been a Honda guy for a long time) I know you can make it rwd, so was wondering if it could go the other way.