1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Fuel Pump

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2010, 01:58 PM
lwclark
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fuel Pump

Hi guys. Happy Sunday.

The stock fuel pump on my '60 F100 was leaking gas under pressure from the diaphram. I swapped in the free extra pump that came with the truck, and got what I paid for. The pin sheared off the lever and that pump's dead.

So, I want to put in an electrical pump, but I've never done that before. I need to try to figure out what CFM rating to use, and whether I need a regulator downstream of it. I also need to figure out if I can splice power into it from the coil power source, or if I need to run a relay off the ignition switch.

Any advice?

Larry

Old 12-19-2010, 02:23 PM
ibuzzard
Panties NOT in a Twist

Received 289 Likes on 199 Posts
I'll be watching this,as I've from time-to-time considered doing this.

Old 12-19-2010, 02:58 PM
Senior User
Originally Posted by lwclark
Hi guys. Happy Sunday.

The stock fuel pump on my '60 F100 was leaking gas under pressure from the diaphram. I swapped in the free extra pump that came with the truck, and got what I paid for. The pin sheared off the lever and that pump's dead.

So, I want to put in an electrical pump, but I've never done that before. I need to try to figure out what CFM rating to use, and whether I need a regulator downstream of it. I also need to figure out if I can splice power into it from the coil power source, or if I need to run a relay off the ignition switch.

Any advice?

Larry
Why not rebuild the mechanical. If it is leaking around the diaphram, the body is probably warped. Some careful filing can fix that. Antique Parts Cellar can get you a good kit. Just my .04 adjusted for inflation.

Old 12-19-2010, 06:49 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 609 Likes on 379 Posts
Can you salvage the diaphragm from the pump with broken linkage?