New Member/ Prospective Buyer Seeking Advice

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2016, 04:44 AM
AK-EMS
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Member/ Prospective Buyer Seeking Advice

First a quick introduction.

My name is Joe and I'm a lifelong Alaskan. I got into EMS this past spring and will be enlisting in the Army as 68W within the next 12 months so I have been searching around for a vehicle that will do me well for the next several years. The 2010 Camaro SS I'm currently driving is not a viable option. Also, I have very little experience wrenching on vehicles but I'm patient and eager to learn.

While searching Craig's List I came across this :
https://anchorage.craigslist.org/cto/5815096700.html

After taking it for a test drive here is what I found in no particular order:

The Not So Good:
1. Seller is currently living in the lower 48 and is currently sitting on the lot of an autobody shop that doesn't want it taking up space anymore.
2. Front end conversion does not properly line up with everything and the wiper fluid does not squirt very well.
3. Hood has no prop for keeping it open.
4. Not all of the electric lock actuators seem to work. Driver side does though.
5. Suspicious amount of rust on the frame.
6. Overall the exterior is not pretty and could use plenty of work. Apparently the current owner purchased it from someone down south who's wife had put it into a ditch and damaged the front end so it sat in a barn for several years before it was purchased and he did the front end conversion.
7. actually has 170k miles.

The Good:
1. All of the leather seats are in great shape with no rips tears or major scratches in any of them.
2. runs and drives great, steering is light with negligible play and no tracking issues.
3. Owner is a disabled vet and not in the business of bull****ting people.
4. Amazingly comfortable.
5. Very few mods so plenty of opportunity to customize. (I don't think it's ever been chipped or tuned)
6. Clean title.