Sponsored by: DP Tuner

How To Replace Engine Boots?

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2010, 09:17 PM
fnx4wheeler
Senior User
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
How To Replace Engine Boots?

I need to replace the lower boots (between turbo pedestal and intake). I will probably use the Dieselsite.com boots. My questions are, how much time does it take? Does anyone have instructions? Are there any other parts needed besides the boots and clamps for this project? I'm no pro, just a regular joe when it comes to wrenching skills.

thanks in advance.

Old 02-04-2010, 09:22 PM
camodown
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
They are really easy to get to. Take off the intake leader hose, take the 7/16" constant torque clamps off the intercooler boots at the intercooler, same with the spider boots, unscrew the AIH intake heater and remove wire, unscrew clamp on the turbo between the spider, unscrew bracket for the wastegate solenoid, and finally, unscrew the clamps for the boots... I dont have any pictures, but if you need some help, post back up and I can get you some pictures with explanations!

Old 02-04-2010, 09:26 PM
camodown
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Hopefully you shouldn't need any new clamps, time wise, hard to say. No more than a few hours if you aren't gooofin around or cleaning the valley or something.

Old 02-04-2010, 09:27 PM
WideOpenFord
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
you mean the between the intake spyder and intake?

Old 02-04-2010, 09:28 PM
WideOpenFord
Senior User
camodown you beat me to it lol

Old 02-04-2010, 09:32 PM
WideOpenFord
Senior User
i got my boots from clay and they are ALOT harder to work into place that the soft factory ones, usefull tool is a small screwdriver to work the lip of the boot over the lip of the spyder and oh yea put the boots on the manifold first and the put the spyder on, i thought it was eaiser getting them on that way.

Old 02-04-2010, 10:02 PM
mueckster
Lead Driver
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts