1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Why no factory air-ride option on pickups?

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2010, 02:23 PM
farmb0y
Posting Guru

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Why no factory air-ride option on pickups?

I just bought a '98 Expedition, Eddie Bauer Edition with factory air-ride. I'm still learning about it, but so far am impressed with it. Has it's own compressor, and there is linkage on the left front A-arm and rear axle to maintain set height. When you hook a trailer to it, it'll air the bags up to maintain the preset height so that it rides level.
I had to go to Firestone to get my pickup to do this, but it's all still manual.

Why would Ford offer such a wonderful option on a SUV and not their pickup trucks?? They have the technology and design, it's on my '98 model year. Just beef things up to match the weight carrying capability of the Super Duty's and it'd be a step or 10 above and beyond the other pickups in the market!!
Ford finally figured out if they put brake controllers in the trucks, that it would help sales. I think this would do the same. Make it an option because not everyone would want it. Just some of my random thoughts...

Old 01-09-2010, 02:33 PM
bfife
still plays with trucks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
If you want air ride visit
kelderman.com
they make kits for all makes and models. its spendy, but its available. I thought about it but opted for air ride seats instead.

Barney

Old 01-09-2010, 04:19 PM
RV_Tech
Hotshot
Received 457 Likes on 310 Posts
Firestone sells all the stuff to automate their systems.