1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

53 f100 hood adjustments

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2010, 09:01 PM
fking1
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by abe
Two questions:
1. how do you know if or when your hinges are shot and need replaced?
2. Are the repop hinges like Mid Fifty sells any good? As good as the originals?
Not sure about when to replace, but , I bought a new Mid-Fifty set and could not get the hood fit anyway near to being OK.
I tightened up the old set rivets, lubed it good and reused them. Worked as good as could be expected after numerous adjustments.

Old 01-07-2010, 11:46 PM
AXracer
Hotshot
Received 53 Likes on 34 Posts
I have no personal experience with the repop hinges, except to hear that some found the "problem pivot" to be stiff or frozen (too tight a rivet, paint buildup?) even when new.
I'd say the time to replace them is when there is free play from wear in the pivots or they are bent. Except where abused like from forcing frozen hinges or unlatched hood flying open, I don't expect the hood would have gotten used enough to actually wear the hinges out.

Old 07-28-2016, 02:55 PM
mgerdau
Mountain Pass
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts