Brakes, Steering, Suspension, Tires, & Wheels  

Proper Fitting Brake Line to Master Cylinder Port?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2009, 05:53 PM
dieselzen
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Proper Fitting Brake Line to Master Cylinder Port?

Good Evening All,
While I know the basics of brake repair, I'm not an expert, and I need some help. I recently replaced my master cylinder on my van ('90 E-350 w/ 7.3 diesel). I replaced the old master cylinder with a Ford OEM replacement (the old one was Ford OEM as well). The front brake port now leaks pretty bad. but the rear seems to be ok. I've determined it isn't a rusted-out line but at the connection between the line and the port. I've included a couple of pictures of both the rear and front ports.
The lines which came off of each port were 3/16". There was a 3/8" tube nut on the Rear Port and a 9/16" tube nut on the Front Port.
As you can see in the pictures, the tube was tightened so much on each port that a groove was mashed into each Port's 'cone'. I was wondering if this is a normal procedure or whether the lines used were actually too small. Am I supposed to tighten the lines til they mash like this?! I read you're not supposed to overtighten the brake lines.
If these lines are too small, how much of the 'cone' is supposed to be inside the brake line? Is the brake line supposed to bottom out near the base of the 'cone' and then be tightened into the flat area at the bottom of the port?
Thank you for taking the time to view my thread,
dieselzen

Old 10-24-2009, 07:18 AM
Lazy K
Post Fiend
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Brake pipe nuts should be tightened just until they are "Snug". The problem with over tightening is that the pipe flare can crack, either down the flare or around the base of the flare.
So examine the pipe end for hairline cracks. If it is cracked you can cut the end off it just behind the flare and reflare it.

Old 10-24-2009, 10:17 PM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts