Sponsored by: Moser

Dana 44 question

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 06:43 PM
jdv19
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dana 44 question

Hello i have a question about my 1977 f250's front axle. I have a dana 44 and it is leaking oil from the rear of the pumpkin where the drive shaft connects. I'm pretty sure it's the pinion seal. My question is when i have the seal out how do i replace the outer pinion bearing as well. I figured i might as well replace that to while im in there. Also do i have to remove the whole axle for this job ? I have the parts pinion seal, outer bearing, pinion nut, washer and crush sleeve. I've never done this before so any info would be awesome i don't want to do something wrong and shred my gears! Thanks the new guy

Old 09-25-2009, 11:32 PM
460/5
Zombie Survivalist
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
never actually done it, but it should be pretty strait forward. if you can get the pinion out, you should be able to get the outer bearing out. the only note for reassembly is to make 100% positive that your gear lashing is right. too much=premature wear. too little=rattly gears/premature wear.

Old 09-26-2009, 01:25 AM
jhooch
Posting Guru
You do not have to pull the whole axle out of the truck to do this job. However, you will need some specialty tools like a torque wrench and a dial indicator. There are several resources on the web that explain the procedure in detail.

Old 09-26-2009, 04:56 AM
fdude64
Posting Guru
you will also need a special housing spread tool to get the carrier in and out of the housing

Old 09-26-2009, 03:38 PM
jdv19
Junior User
Can I do this job from the rear of the houseing by dropping the drive shaft and going in, or do i have to go through the front? Any ideas on where to look on the net for the info can't seem to find it. Found some on replacing the seal but not the bearing.

Old 09-26-2009, 04:27 PM
OpieCunningham
New User