General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

What's the Interest in a Towing Operation?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2009, 09:34 PM
Caleb H
More Turbo
Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts
Question What's the Interest in a Towing Operation?

Here's the story: I just graduated high school, and working part time twelve hours a week isn't really cutting it. I really would like to be my own boss, doing something kinda simple (NOTE: That doesn't equate to easy). I've been throwing around a million ideas, and the latest one is a vehicle moving service. A lot of you guys buy things off of eBay, Craigslist, and all other sorts of stuff, and I was just wondering what the market is these days for a vehicle delivery man; someone to tow a vehicle to somewhere else, whether you're moving, buying, selling, or just need a non-emergency tow. I have no experience, but this is sort of fancying my current interest, and if it is a somewhat lucrative job, it would give me something to start working towards in a few years. Can anyone offer me any information and/or advice?

(And yeah, I already know I'd need another truck, don't worry about me driving my '83 F150 cross country with a 6000 lb trailer )

Old 09-06-2009, 10:07 PM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
The chances of making money at that right now are slim to none. You will need a CDL to cross state lines, and a DOT number, and commercial insurance with cargo insurance. Single hauling won't pay the fuel bill, either. If you charge $1 per mile, not enough to cover fuel, equipment costs, and insurance not to mention your pay, you will still be charging $3k to cross the country. At that price, people would be much more inclined to get on a plane and drive the vehicle back.
Might be a goal to work towards, but not something you can just step in and make money at.

Old 09-07-2009, 06:42 AM
tseekins
Super Moderator
Received 1,222 Likes on 804 Posts
Originally Posted by Caleb H