Weigh Stations?

Search this Thread

Old 12-27-2001, 03:57 PM
jeepnford
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Weigh Stations?

This is probably a dumb question,but do any of you who tow your own trailers(not for hire) ever have to stop at weigh stations or the like? I've never pulled one very far but next year want to tow my Jeep out west to Colorado or Utah and just wondered if they care about non-commercial trucks. Thanks in advance for any info.

Old 12-27-2001, 07:34 PM
flyboy2610
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Weigh Stations?

As a professional driver, I can tell you that most signs for weigh stations read to the effect of "All trucks and pickups with trailers must weigh. Recreational vehicles exempt." They want to check the safety of the rig, that you haven't overloaded an axle, and if you have a diesel they may check for evidence of red dye {farm use only fuel} in your fuel tank. I've seen pickups and trailers getting the full inspection bit. Just my 2 cents worth.

Old 12-28-2001, 09:14 AM
CmprSpecial
Elder User
Weigh Stations?

This is a link to similar discussion on an RV board

http://www.rv.net/forums/index.cfm/fuseaction/thread/CFB/1/TID/103468.cfm

Old 01-13-2002, 09:21 AM
vqarabs
Freshman User
Weigh Stations?