Sandblasting

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2000, 05:17 PM
58Model
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sandblasting

I am getting ready to take the cab off my 58 for body repair, rust removal etc. I was planning to take the fenders, doors, hood and tailgate and have them sandblasted to remove rust and old paint. There are at least 3 or 4 coats of paint and primer on this truck. is this sandblasting a bad idea?
Should i just get the edges of the body parts sandblasted and sand the flat surfaces? What do you experienced folks think? If the sandblaster warps all the sheet metal i am in trouble, but also if I leave rust I am in trouble too. I don't know! Thanks

Old 12-03-2000, 10:58 PM
Kenny
Cargo Master
Sandblasting

I'm not experienced in this, but I know a few people who have had theirs professionally done, and were very pleased with the results. They said they had used walnut shells. I'll be going this route with my '59 when it's time.
Kenny

Old 12-04-2000, 06:08 AM
58Model
Senior User
Sandblasting

Yes, I think media blasted may be the right term. Did they have all the flat sheet metal of fenders, hood and doors media blasted for paint removal?The posts I've seen on the bodywork message board sound like people have had a lot of metal distortion with this.I'm debating just doing the edges and then maybe using 3M pads for paint removal on the flat areas? I don't know. Any opinion?

Old 12-05-2000, 11:02 PM
Kenny
Cargo Master
Sandblasting

Yeah, they had the whole thing done. I think the crushed walnut shells will remove the paint, but they are soft enough to not distort the metal. To be on the safe side, I would definately double check with a professional though.
Kenny

Old 12-06-2000, 05:52 AM
58Model
Senior User
Sandblasting

Thanks for the help. Any thoughts on paint/rust removal on the cab? I don't think I can media blast it unless I remove everything, ie dash components, wiring harness, etc.

Old 12-06-2000, 08:52 AM
roscoe
Senior User
Sandblasting