1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1960 F-100 - To seal or not to seal the gas tank...

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2009, 12:46 PM
The Momma
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1960 F-100 - To seal or not to seal the gas tank...

Hey Boys & Girls,

There is no question that my gas tank needs to be boiled. The question is:

Is sealing necassary??

Thanks!
-Erin

Old 03-13-2009, 01:17 PM
black58
Elder User
Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
I have no experience with this, but I have heard that the ethanol content in today's gasoline will eventually eat through the coating used to seal the tank, and in turn will eventually plug up your fuel system. But, like I said, I have no experience on the subject. My info could be wrong.

Old 03-13-2009, 07:45 PM
bassn1
Senior User
The tank on my '60 had gas in it from 20 years ago. It turned into some black stinking goo. The inside of the tank is rusted as well. I checked at a local shop to see about geting it cleaned and sealed. It would cost as much to seal it as it would to buy a new tank. I think Mac's or LMC has them for around $200.

Old 03-13-2009, 09:30 PM
TxF100
Senior User
The Por15 kit is suppose to be able to handle high alcohol content fuels see US STANDARD TANK SEALER-POR-15 Inc.

Old 03-14-2009, 01:10 AM
Julies Cool F1
Post Fiend
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Yes definately do it if you are going to pull and boil the tank. It helps prevent rust whos fine particles accumulate in the bottom of the tank and are what settles int efule lines and carb bowl when the truck sits.

Just FYI, most kits or products are a four step process - acid etching to neutralize rust (which your boil will do); washing with soap and water (which the shop will do for you); rinsing with denatured alcohol (to absorb the water left by washing); then, coating. The coating is usually nothing more than pigmented white shellac.

Old 03-14-2009, 08:51 AM
dennisb56
Laughing Gas