1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Death Wobble

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2008, 09:17 PM
luckeyjeff
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Death Wobble

Recently purchased a 2008 f350 crew cab longbox diesel. It has a 4 " skyjacker lift kit and 18000 miles. Today on the highway at 60mph the truck started bucking and shaking so violently I had to pull over to the side of the road. The motion was so violent , if I was not on a divided highway, I would have gone into on coming traffic. I am by no means a mechanic or "truck guy", so I had no idea what had occurred. After driving home slowly, and cleaning my shorts, I goggled ford wobble and found out about the dreaded Death Wobble. I am glad I am not alone with this. As today is the first time it has happend to me ( I bought the truck last week ), what are my options? I know this has happened to many owners and would like to know what my first step should be? Read many sites about fixing it has confused me a little. Is this only a problem with lifted trucks? Most importantly, how can it be fixed? Thanks to all in advance.

Old 04-02-2008, 09:28 PM
krewat
Site Administrator
Received 298 Likes on 157 Posts
Take it right back to the dealer and explain it - there is a TSB for it, and they need to go through it step by step.

It could be as simple as air pressure in the tires.

Of course, you have a lift on it, so that dealer better cover you

Old 04-02-2008, 09:40 PM
josh04hdf250
Senior User