1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

oil cooler leak '97 f350(trying again)

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2008, 09:22 PM
etaube
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
oil cooler leak '97 f350(trying again)

(trying again..have posted a couple times...no replies!...is this a sign it's too difficult of a job to tackle?)

first i'll say i'm a newbie at this site and working on vehicles. i currently have two leaks...fuel pump and oil cooler(diagnosed from a diesel mechanic and 'somewhat' confirmed by me). I have pretty much narrowed down the fuel leak to the fuel pump...tightened the banjo bolt and still leaks(only a very minor puddle in the valley after i cleaned out and drove about 20 miles or so).
thanks to all the earlier posts, i think i will be able to tackle this job(but i'm afraid with my luck i will loose the tappet in the motor...).

As far as the oil cooler....i've seen a couple posts saying unbolting 2 of the motor mounts is needed and the other posts say that is not the case. i haven't investigated the oil leak thoroughly, but i don't have any reason to doubt the mechanic that looked at it for me. i noticed the leak coming from the top of the oil filter about a month ago and decided to change the oil hoping it was just a 'loose' filter. still leaked. that's when i took it in to get looked at by the 'pro'.

Are there any 'diy' instructions available to do the oil cooler work myself? or is it just too much of a job for a newbie?

Thanks for all the help/posts.
sorry for the lengthy post, but i believe it's helpful to put as much info as needed! (there's other people with the same problems out there!)

I found good info on the fuel pump replacement, just not the oil cooler work.

Thanks again.

Old 01-06-2008, 09:58 PM
tndiesel
Elder User
Originally Posted by etaube
(trying again..have posted a couple times...no replies!...is this a sign it's too difficult of a job to tackle?)