Sponsored by:

Update-project 85 300-6

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2007, 10:40 PM
cfrives3
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Update-project 85 300-6

Well I'm sure most of you have seen my Eddie Bauer project thread. I figured I needed to start one on my 85 too. It has kind of been on the back burner since the wife got the EB. As it stands now, it needs ball joints pretty bad, and I have never done them before. I did get my tailgate window working well from all the switches, that is something I really wanted. I yanked the motor out of it today and power washed the engine compartment as it has been leaking oil pretty bad for about a year now. Tomorrow it is getting the motor out of an 84 I bought real cheap. My motor was tired, and the lower end was getting a little noisy. After the engine compartment dried out, I started rebuilding the engine wiring harness. Whoever put this motor in was an idiot. The wiring looked like spaghetti under there with yellow butt connectors all over the place. Not anymore. It took about three hours of separating tangled messes of wiring and redoing all the splices. Then I remade the harness itself to route specific wires to where they need to go. Wow what a difference it made. I can't wait to get this new motor in and done. The friend I got it from said he was getting 11 or 12 to the gallon out of it, which is better than mine got. Anyway, I'll get back on tomorrow night and let you all know how far we got. Then I need to figure out how or what I am gonna do for tires. I can't seem to make up my mind, I have several options for wheels here at home (3 sets), and a few ideas as for what to do on tires. I'll holler tomorrow night.

Old 09-08-2007, 03:57 PM
cfrives3
Posting Guru
Motor is stabbed. Taking a break now, then I'm out to hook everything up.

Old 09-08-2007, 04:16 PM
scurbiedog
Senior User