1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

'56 easiest IFS swap

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2001, 09:51 PM
mrbreeze
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'56 easiest IFS swap

Hello,
I'm new to this forum, but I see that there is plenty of great information here.
I've just got an old fixer-upper '56 F100, which I'm just starting out on restoring. It appears the main (2) IFS front end swaps are the mustang II and the volare. I've got access to a '76 mustang IFS (cheap) but if the volare is easier to do, I'll keep looking. I eventually intend on replacing the stock straight 6 with 351/C6 drivetrain, will this motor mount without modifications? Any advice on the best way to go, will be much appreciated.
Thanks
William

Old 02-19-2001, 10:32 PM
truckfarmer
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'56 easiest IFS swap

I have a 56 panel truck that we put a Camaro subframe in. It drives great. If I had to do it over, I would probably put in the Mustang II or volare'. I have installed Volare's in 53-56 and in 61-66 F100's. They are quick and easy to do at home. You cut a notch in the bottom of the frame and weld the Chrysler K-member in. If you use the Mustang II, I suggest buying an aftermarket crossmember. They should include a rack extender. The frame is wider than the car and needs this extender. Nice thing about the Mustang is the availability of parts (tubular A-frames, dropped spindles, air bags, coil overs, etc.)With any engine change, you'll have to fabricate motor mounts. Mid-Fifties sells motor mount kits for either frontend.

Old 02-20-2001, 09:00 PM
tkbowman
Senior User
'56 easiest IFS swap