1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Rear Inside Dual Wheel Removal F6

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2006, 01:03 AM
abdelon
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear Inside Dual Wheel Removal F6

Is there a trick to removing the inside duals from an F6? I am a bit of a newbie to big trucks. Trying to remove but both inside duals seem to be locked solid. Truck has set for 30 + years so it just may need some added force to remove. Any ideas appreciated - Jerry

Old 07-06-2006, 09:00 AM
stockcar nut
Senior User
Have you removed the thimble nuts? If not, you need a Budd wheel socket, it has a square hole for the head of the thimble nut inside just past the hex portion. It is a duel purpuss wheel socket.

Old 07-06-2006, 11:06 AM
HT32BSX115
Logistics Pro
Received 82 Likes on 49 Posts
You'll probably NOT want to remove both the inside wheel and outside at the same time but you may have to if you can't get the outer nut off.

I had that problem removing mine. I replaced all the inside and outside lugnuts on mine. some were so corroded that the whole thing turned.

Once you get the wheels off you can split them. If they are completely rusted together you may have to cut the nuts off. If the nuts are severely corroded the wheels will probably be unsafe too.

Remove all the air from the tires before you do this by the way. If the split rim decides to come apart while you are doing all of this you may lose your life!

Then, find yourself a set of 3 piece "Lock Ring" type wheels to replace the 2 piece split rim wheels. Most tire dealers won't reassemble your split rims. (I couldn't find anyone in Western Wa to do it because of insurance restrictions....also after I read in the Ford Shop Manual that the "Widow Makers" could come apart before, during, or after installation AND driving down the road, I decided that I couldn't afford the chance I might kill someone(including myself!) either.