Wireless entry problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2005, 01:10 AM
PMDRACER
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wireless entry problem

Newbie here. Not sure where to post this, but...

Just bought a 1999 F250 Super Duty with the V10. Love the truck, but I've had it for about a month, and 5 times now the remote keyless entry has quit working. I'll walk up to the truck, hit the unlock button and nothing happens.
Took the truck back to Ford and of course the problem doesn't surface the entire time I'm there, and they give me 2 brand new fobs. Since then it has happened 2 more times.

The funny thing is that it only does this at my work. I work in a building with an underground parking garage. I stopped setting the alarm and just locking the doors because I got tired of explaining to the bored and well-armed Sheriffs that come running whenever they hear the alarm go off when I have to open the door, put in the key and find the valet button under the dash.

So today, when I leave for work it does it again, so I just unlock the door with the key. Of course as soon as I open the door, I check the operation of the buttons on the fob and all works fine. Again, it only happens at work. I set the alarm/door locks anywhere else and never have a problem.

Anybody have any ideas? I'm about ready to go back to Ford and tell them to replace the keyless entry module.

Old 11-18-2005, 01:19 AM
Torque1st
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
Hello- Welcome to FTE! I have moved your post to the specialized forum we have here for your question. Check out the list of tech forums we have here. There is a wealth of information and expertise here to help you. There are a number of links in my sig below to help you also. Have fun!

Old 11-18-2005, 12:55 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,680 Likes on 1,357 Posts
Have you tried parking in different areas of the garage? There may be some equipment in the building jamming the signal.

Old 11-18-2005, 04:39 PM
PMDRACER
Senior User