1983 - 2012 Ranger & B-Series All Ford Ranger and Mazda B-Series models

2.9L 5-speed: oil in bellhousing coming from???

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2005, 02:35 PM
mjk
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2.9L 5-speed: oil in bellhousing coming from???

Hi, I'm an amateur that could use some wise counsel.
Tranny is out (clutch was slipping) - oil/sludge in bellhousing. Rear main looks good. Could it be oil pan gasket or else coming from other engine leak that is finding its way into housing? Is there a front tranny seal behind the hydraulic slave that could be leaking gear oil into the housing? Haynes manual doesn't say anything about trannsmission seal up front. Is it wise to just replace all this stuff along with the oil soaked clutch disc ... pilot bearing too?

I will appreciate any help...mjk

Old 07-26-2005, 06:22 PM
TheDuck
Freshman User
Can't say for sure where the oil is coming from without inspecting the truck, however, there is a input/pilot shaft seal in the front of the trans. I would replace the pilot bearing, clutch friction plate, pressure plate, slave cyl and release bearing and have the flywheel surfaced as well as replacing that front trans seal. When your done it will perform like new and you will have the peace of mind that comes from knowing you won't have to take it apart again anytime in the near future.

Old 07-26-2005, 08:02 PM
fordboy_52
Lead Driver
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
sounds like a rear main bearing seal.. they are a bear to fix... but if u know what ur doing can be done in a day

Matt

Old 07-27-2005, 07:54 AM
G2IC_Wraith
Laughing Gas
Received 21 Likes on 16 Posts
mjk - Since you have the trans out anyway, you will want to replace many of the things TheDuck mentioned. For the simple fact that it is one giant pain to get the trans down to start, and you don't want to have to do it again any time soon.