General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

The Most Severe Weather

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2005, 02:18 AM
sierraben
Post Fiend

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The Most Severe Weather

What's the most severe weather/natural phenomenon you've encountered?

Old 06-11-2005, 03:01 AM
Ford_Six
Hotshot
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
I was about three blocks from a tornado in Tampa, FL a while back. I was the last car coming down Rt 89 from Payson, AZ, to Phoenix in a massive snowstorm on Good Friday, 99.

Old 06-11-2005, 05:52 AM
mistakenID
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
As a long haul trucker, I've had a few encounters with mother natures pms. The worst was in Oregon on I-84 going over Cabbage. It's about 6 miles of 6.5% grade. Not really a bad piece of road normally but that night in January, with the road already iced up a couple of inches and a fog so heavy you couldn't see your hand in front of your face....well....it was a pucker factor of about 10.

Went up the hill weaving from road edge to road edge and going around the supered curves but not able to even see you were on a curve, felt like the truck was going to tip right over, not to mention the front end slide. Talk about vertigo.

The other most memorable would be going across Wyoming 30 to 80 east one winter night. Couple inches of ice on the road, snowing sideways (snow never melts in Wyoming, it wears out blowing around) and 87 below 0 with the wind chill. There were so many cars and trucks off the road or just froze up, you had to stand in line for your turn. I had to keep scraping frost off the inside of the windshield.

I'm sure the Wyoming and Dakota people will have a few "cold-n-windy" yarns to spin

Old 06-11-2005, 07:44 AM
FoxyFord83
Junior User
hurricane isabell in virginia beach 2003. i had just had my daughter 3 weeks prior so it was scary for me to have to go thru it. luckily our house wasnt really damaged except for tree limbs and debris.