Propane as an option?

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2005, 12:48 PM
dilithium
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Propane as an option?

Greetings to everyone, my name is Phillip and I'm new to the neighborhood. I wanted to dive in and post on my newest favortie topic: "Converting Gasoline Engine to PROPANE." I've done some research and discovered that it would be worth the cost to perform this conversion due to the climbing costs of gasoline and rise in environmental polution. I'm looking to discuss this with anyone interested in the topic as well as get some ideas on making this a reality. Currently, in Metro Atlanta, most of the Commuter Buses us CNG(Compressed Natural Gas). It's cheaper, burns clean, and out of the 48 locations that you can get Natural Gas/Propane in GA, 22 of them are locaed in the Metro Atlanta area. Propane falls in at around .70 per gallon and allows for same power, lower price, better for the environment. I look forward to all replies.

Thanks

Phillip
2000 FORD Explorer Limited Edition, AWD

Old 03-15-2005, 04:57 PM
rclarke
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I used propane in my vehicles in the late 70's and the 80's. Propane will reduce mileage by 10% and power by 10-15%. You also have the problem of installing large enough tanks to give you some range. The main advantage is no apparent warmup period, when you fire the engine up it is ready to run (no stumbles on accelleration). But that problem went away on gas engines with fuel injection. Conversion even in the 70's and 80's cost $500 to $1000, I don't know what it would cost today.

Old 03-15-2005, 06:16 PM
Torque1st
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
Moved to proper forum.

Old 03-15-2005, 07:40 PM
cornfeed
Junior User
I have a 1997 f700 with a 429 that runs on propane. IT came that way from the factory. It runs good and starts good. You do have to be careful not to go too far from home or you might not find a place to fill up.

Old 03-27-2005, 07:23 PM
351M