Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

Rattling noise under acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2005, 06:01 PM
mikemoore
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs down Rattling noise under acceleration

I just bought a 2002 Explorer with 40K miles and V-8. It runs and drives fine, but under acceleration, it sounds like a rattling noise coming from the tranny, but not engine ping or detonation from cheap gas. It wont do it in overdrive. The dealer claimed that they reprogrammed the PCM (power control module) and that the noise would go away in 500 miles or less. It has worsened, and now claim the noise is normal. Anybody had the same experience? I am an airplane mechanic for living, this has me stumped. I would like to have it fixed while under warranty. Can't believe any such noise is normal.

Old 01-10-2005, 08:44 PM
vicv
Senior User
How about a loose heat shield? Look on the pipes near the converter, the clamps sometimes break or rot.

Old 01-10-2005, 11:04 PM
mikemoore
New User
Heat sheild

I checked that, they are all tight. Underside looks brand new. It is actually in excellent shape. It is at the dearship now, let the games begin.

Old 01-11-2005, 05:59 PM
98xlt
Senior User
has it ever had a tranny fluid flush and definitely replaced with Mercon V, not Mercon/Dexron?

Old 01-11-2005, 06:07 PM
Backin72
Senior User
Sounds like a dirty MAF sensor, but you say it's coming from the tranny. Might be worth checking out.

Old 01-12-2005, 08:36 AM
mikemoore
New User
Angry transmission rattling