Sponsored by: DP Tuner

PSD hard start , dies no power sometimes

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2003, 05:30 PM
mikemonster
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
PSD hard start , dies no power sometimes

I am pretty new to Diesel though I've had my truck for almost 2 years I haven't really had any problems until recently. I have a stock (no chip or mods) '97 F350 PSD/automatic w/150Kmiles. I have owned it since 97K miles and change the oil regularly (every 4K or so) and changed the fuel/water separator at 140K . This past summer I was driving on the highway and the truck hesitated a second (almost like power was removed) then continued running ok. I pulled off the highway and it started running like it was missing on multiple cyls. Lost power and nearly died the check engine light came on (I had to keep feathering the throttle to keep it running. I pulled into a parking lot and it died. When I tried to restart it , it wouldn't catch. I waited about 10-20 minutes and tried again and it started. After that it ran fine all summer. I had read some posts that it might be the Cam sensor going bad. Last week it started acting up again drove it to a friends stayed a couple of hours then on my way home the old symptom occurred and I barely got home. If I let it warm up for about 5mins. It seemed ok (I just read here that its bad to let it idle, so I will stop that practice) . I just got a diagnostic analyzer to check what's going on and I tried it out last night…NO Error codes (would a Cam Position Sensor going bad trip an error code?). If it was a gas engine and I had this symptom I would figure that its ignition or starving for fuel. Since there is not ignition system (except for glow plugs) I'm suspecting fuel but what part and how would I check them out?

Thanks,
Mike

Last edited by mikemonster; 11-25-2003 at 05:33 PM.
Old 11-25-2003, 06:30 PM
Quadzilla
Postmaster