1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

2008 E250 fuel filter leaking at connector

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2016, 09:49 PM
CWR032
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 E250 fuel filter leaking at connector

Sorry if this seems like a noob question, I'm only new to Ford.

I noticed fuel dripping from the inlet side connector of the fuel filter - is there an o-ring or something I should pick up before I go to change out the filter or will I need to get the line replaced? I can drive it to a shop now if I have to but I'm concerned if something's damaged I won't get it driveable and I'll have to have it towed.

Old 11-03-2016, 11:45 PM
GreeVan
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
It looks like the connector is not all the way in. The fuel line should be aligned with the filter neck. Remove the clip and try to push the connector all the way in.

Old 11-04-2016, 08:01 AM
CWR032
Junior User
I see that now - I wonder if someone tried to disconnect it to get at fuel. I found a cut evap line on top of the fuel tank the other day so I know someone's been under it.

Old 11-04-2016, 09:20 AM
aj197816134
Senior User
I was looking at this last night late on my phone, and could not tell. But I agree that is BENT< or pulled out for sure. The connection is not correct at best. Find fuel pump relay disconnect it, crank van over so it does not start a few times, and then see if you can push fitting on. DO NOT FORCE it. IN the case that its BENT inside the fitting you are going to have to carefully work on removing that fitting from the filter and check the integrity of the connector.
It may be as simple as NOT seated but it does not look correct

Old 11-05-2016, 10:25 PM
CWR032
Junior User