Sponsored by:

Airsmitty's Ex Build

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2016, 10:29 PM
AirSmitty
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Airsmitty's Ex Build

Hello all! I am a long time FTE guy, but I've gone astray for a few years. I used to post around the Dentside and Off-road forums a lot. I've owned 2 dentside 4x4's, and I still own a '78 Supercab 4x4 that is currently "resting."(more on that later, I hope!)

I've been doing "The Jeep Thing" through college and beyond because it was cheaper/easier than getting my neglected '78 running and off-road ready while I was a poor college student. I have a 91 Jeep XJ weekend/trail/beater rig that I just retired as my daily driver because I got this:

She is a 2000 V10 4x4 and started with 143K on the clock. I would have preferred a diesel, but I could not pass it up for the price, nor could I afford a 7.3 Excursion fresh out of college.

I'm not one to leave things stock, so I have a long list for this vehicle. This will be changed/delayed as life happens I am sure:

Short term (1-5 years):
-Lift with 35's
-Fix the Flaking roof-paint (Bedliner?)
-Intake and muffler
-various doodads and thingamabobs that break/need improvement.
-05 lights
-Tow mirrors

Long term(5-200 years):
-24 Valve Cummins Swap
-05 Dana 60/Coil Swap
-Gears and Lockers
-38-40's
-Deavers/airbags
-Prerunner/winch bumper
-Roof Rack
-A handfull of round off road lights (Light bars or for Justin Bieber Fans )

Old 09-20-2016, 10:32 PM
AirSmitty
Senior User
The Story:

My wife and I graduated from college up at BYU and moved back to California to be around our parents (free rent!) and job search. After a few months, I found a job way out in Fayetteville, AR.