Sponsored by:

78 Bronco Ruff Stuff universal shackle flip installation

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2016, 03:44 PM
bigzirb
Elder User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
78 Bronco Ruff Stuff universal shackle flip installation

This will be as complete of a write up as I can manage so feel free to ask questions about anything I forgot or that confused you. I am using the Ruff Stuff Specialties universal shackle flip kit with their 6" shackles. While it is a universal kit, they actually make it to the dimensions that you provide to them. This kit also changes from the Ford factory pocket style shackle to a dual outer mounting style. I'm not an expert, just trying to help out the next guy that try's this swap. I did forget to take pictures at the start so I hope you can figure the easy steps out. I'm also not done at this point but I figured I would try to write it up while it is still fresh in my head.
Name:  IMG_4470_zpssnolauax.jpg
Views: 2171
Size:  200.0 KB

My project is a 1978 Ford Bronco that I bought in pieces from the second owner. It already had a lift on it of unknown height and a Dana 60 swapped into the rear, I did the rear disc swap. So it was finally time to get rid of the blocks on the rear of my Bronco and the scary long U-bolts that were not even straight on the axle! The blocks are 5 1/2" at the rear and taper to 5" at the front. That makes me guess the lift on my Bronco was a 6" lift from some unknown company. My goal is to get rid of the blocks, correct the pinion angle, and maintain or increase the rear lift slightly.
Name:  image_zpswrbybtil.jpeg
Views: 2000
Size:  158.2 KB