1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

'53 box build

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2016, 08:09 PM
Marten
Laughing Gas
Received 250 Likes on 158 Posts
'53 box build

I know that some of you have or are building your own bed. I would like to talk to or email you as I cannot find the builds. I am thinking about doing this myself but need to know what I am getting into. This is my first build ever. Also just learning to weld. If you can show me a link or send me a PM that would be great.

Old 06-28-2016, 09:12 PM
stubbfarmer
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Look at the scratch built bed thread on page 2. It may help.

Old 06-29-2016, 10:57 AM
Drewski 2
Laughing Gas
Received 32 Likes on 13 Posts
You might look at my build link. My build might lean toward the custom side more than you might want, but you get the general idea of how I approached building the bed.

Old 06-29-2016, 12:14 PM
CharlieLed
Lead Driver
Received 467 Likes on 303 Posts
The first considerations, besides your own skill level, is the local availability of metal and the facilities to shape the metal. Assuming that you will be building the bed out of 16 ga sheetmetal, you can take the measurements for the sides, header, and stake pockets and price out the metal. You can also find a shop that will shear and brake the metal for you. Since you are not an accomplished welder you may want to look into structural adhesives (3M 08115 for instance)...most modern day truck beds are assembled using adhesives. This is a fairly involved process and as a newbie it may be daunting. Don't bite off more than you can chew.

Old 07-02-2016, 11:55 AM
petemcl
Still Learnin'
Received 38 Likes on 28 Posts
I see that you already had posted in this thread:
https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...built-bed.html

Couldn't you find it again or was there some other question?