6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Sorry. Another "should I buy a 6.0?" post

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2016, 02:53 PM
CamoJus
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sorry. Another "should I buy a 6.0?" post

I'm sorry to do this to you guys as I am aware this is the never ending debate. I have done extensive research, including the 6.0 tech folder in this forum. But a lot of the answers I come across seem more opinionated and circumstantial, so I was hoping understanding my circumstances could get a better opinion maybe? I'm an ASE certified mechanic going on about 11 years, but mostly gas engine. My diesel drivability skills are meh, but I do have a fully update MODIS and r&r isn't a concern. I currently have an access cab tundra that just doesn't have the room I need for my kids. My main reason for wanting a power stroke is more for space and fuel mileage rather than towing and hauling, and I have no desire for performance upgrades. That being said, is buying an 04 6.0 with 155k worth the headache for my situation? Or would it be a headache at this point? It seems like mostly what I've read is the problems arose early in these trucks. The vehicle history I have is pretty generic, but it does show drivability concerns addressed between 45-60k. Regular maintenance records up until about 100k and after that not much history available. I'm torn between this truck and a double cab tundra, same year and mileage but $2k more. I would prefer to have a power stroke, but with an 11 year old, a 2 year old, and wife who wants another baby, I don't need to be in over my head in a money pit. Worth it? Opinions?

Old 02-06-2016, 03:04 PM
Shaneb75
Strokin Okie

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
I have a 6.0 because I enjoy driving and working on on it. By working I mean performing maintenance etc...

By not buying a bone stock truck you may end up in that money pit you are trying to avoid. JMO