Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

help please! newbie first engine pull

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2016, 09:22 PM
GoldCo
Laughing Gas
Received 19 Likes on 5 Posts
Exclamation help please! newbie first engine pull

hey folks, i just picked up a chassis from a '95 F150 -- the plan is to pull (and rebuild) the 5.8 as well as the tranny.

got it home, and started pulling stuff from engine after removing radiator/support and draining oil. (i'm lucky that there's no body!) removed alternator, air pump and junk, power steering. cut the downtubes after exhaust manifold (don't need).

this is my first time pulling an engine and i've got a few questions (hopefully answered by tomorrow, since i'm "borrowing" my parents' garage for the weekend):

1) how do i remove the fuel lines going up to motor from frame? (see photo). i pulled a clip, but don't see how it comes apart. i understand they may be under pressure, yes? how to proceed?

2) where do i unbolt the rear of the tranny -- there's a short "spacer" in front of the transfer case where i could remove bolts on either side (closer to tranny or closer to transfer case). will all the fluid come pouring out of either tranny, t-case, or both? (see photos)

any help would be super appreciated!

thanks.

Old 01-09-2016, 09:30 PM
GoldCo
Laughing Gas
continued

also, forgot to mention the plan is to swap motor/tranny in to a '52 F3.

1) how can i tell if this tranny is a E4OD, AODE, or 4R70W (per wikipedia)?

2) are the automatic transmissions different in the 4x4 vs. the RWD? can i use this tranny in my RWD '52 with some kind of adapter for the tailshaft —> driveshaft instead of transfer case?

Old 01-10-2016, 07:13 AM
chrismd188
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts