Sponsored by:

New tires = lower gas milage

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2015, 10:48 AM
g00d4me
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New tires = lower gas milage

I got 4 new Kumho road venture tires about a month ago and I've noticed that my mileage has gone down since then

I used to average 430-450 on a fill up and now im barely getting 375.

I had bfgoodrich a/t tires on there before getting the hire mileage.

I also have noticed a couple of other issues:

1. I seem to have wander in the steering wheel going to the street tires and sometimes it makes it look im a drunk driver.

Could the camber adjustment have anything to do with that or do i need a new steering stabilizer?

2. There is a horrible shake in the truck between 50-60

It goes away over 60 and doesnt happen until 50

It is so smooth and quiet at 60+ it puts a smile on my face and it makes me want to drive that fast so i dont have to feel the shake in the truck

I've had the tires re-balanced and rotated and it's not as bad as it was before, but it definitely is a noticeable shake.

Could it be a bad tire or something mechanical?

Old 11-21-2015, 12:57 PM
WE3ZS
World Famous Mod
Received 834 Likes on 573 Posts
Were both sets of tires the exact same size?
Were both sets of tires set to the exact same pressure? Lower pressures will net lower MPGs and can induce a wander into the ride.
Have you actually calculated the fuel mileage with either set of tires? Hand calculated miles driven by gallons burned.
For the vibration, find a shop that can do a high speed balance with the tires on the truck.
Have you made a camber adjustment prior to this new wander?

Old 11-21-2015, 01:11 PM
g00d4me
Senior User
they did the camber adjustment and its within spec

Same size yes, but the bfgoodrich with all terrain tires

i don't know where the previous pressure was set at, but I know that the new ones are at spec