Learning to work on Trucks online?

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2015, 03:05 PM
axelgawn
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Learning to work on Trucks online?

Hey fellow FTEs,

So I am in IT by profession but I have dabbled with wrenches enough to be dangerous. I have been working on my 73 f100 for a while for the small things but I want to replace then engine and upgrade to an AOD transmission while I am at it. It has worn bearing which I believe is the culprit of my low oil pressure. Every time I have posted, you guys have been wonderful. However, I was thinking of trying to learn how to be a hobby mechanic online and wanted your thoughts. Has anyone done it? Any recommendations?

How did you guys get started? Did all of you have a mechanic in the family? I come from a line of professors so no dice for me.

I know how an engine and tranny work but I have no experience replacing one. And there is only so much on youtube.

Old 11-10-2015, 03:27 PM
77&79F250
Moderator & parts seller
Received 3,290 Likes on 2,446 Posts
Reading it on line or watching u tube will get you only so far and no where you want to be.

Since you were not born with a wrench in a hand (neither was I and my dad hated working on his trucks) that is my excuse anyway for not be super mechanical...lol. Or your family was not wrench inclined, then it is all up to you.

IMO sign up for you state FTE chapter and get to know folks, I mean really get to know them, develop a friendship/trust and see who really knows there stuff, or not.

Have G2G (Get togethers) BBQ, cook out's, meet at a car show, or automobile event. Or a once a month have a FTE GTG at a restaurant or something like that. Man up and meet at a local gun show, or expo vent. 4 Wheel and Off Road Jamboree is a great one. Become friends that have a similar Ford truck interest.