1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Is this 12V

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2015, 06:18 PM
chrislynn5
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Is this 12V

After I stated in another thread that my truck is 12V, I thought I'd better ask. I'm a newbie with the truck and bought it as converted to 12v. I've been reading through the topics and saw a few things that I wanted to confirm.

1.) 12v requires the generator to be changed to a 12v alternator, or can it be another 12v generator? which is better? Mine is painted, I can't tell?
2.) The starter should be a 12v starter? Is mine? I can't tell.
3.) I've read the gauges will require reducers to 6v, I think that can be done for all at once. I saw the devices that do it per gauge in another posting. Which is better? I can't tell if mine reduced, but I believe it is.

My electrical appears over complicated since someone wired a trailer hitch plug. And I thought I saw a electric fuel pump.

I'm ordering some parts, and part of that might be some wire, or another harness. Some of my wire appear original and is frayed.

Help...

Attached Images      
Old 09-13-2015, 06:33 PM
harleymsn
FTE Chapter Leader

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by chrislynn5
After I stated in another thread that my truck is 12V, I thought I'd better ask. I'm a newbie with the truck and bought it as converted to 12v. I've been reading through the topics and saw a few things that I wanted to confirm.

1.) 12v requires the generator to be changed to a 12v alternator, or can it be another 12v generator? which is better? Mine is painted, I can't tell?
2.) The starter should be a 12v starter? Is mine? I can't tell.
3.) I've read the gauges will require reducers to 6v, I think that can be done for all at once. I saw the devices that do it per gauge in another posting. Which is better? I can't tell if mine reduced, but I believe it is.