1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Carb question

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2015, 10:03 AM
Mitchapalooza
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Carb question

So I'm new to the Carburetor realm so curious on your carb 302 setups.
I'm running a 302 with mild cam & 202 heads.
I originally was running an edelbrock 600 4 barrel single inlet & got around 10-12 mpg but the truck felt really restricted power wise. Had the carb wide open on the fuel adjustment (rich).
So I got ahold of a QuickFuel 750 4 barrel dual inlet in which I'm getting about 6mph but I have much better response & power. The truck seems to run the same gas mileage wise whether I'm running rich or real lean I still get bad gas mileage.
So my question is to balance out power & gas mileage what would be the best option? Replace the primary jets on my current carb (72) to maybe a 68? Or run a single inlet 650 carb? Thanks guys

Old 07-09-2015, 12:30 PM
Gary Lewis
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
When you say you "Had the carb wide open on fuel adjustment (rich)", do you mean you had the largest jets and smallest rods in it? Or, you just turned the idle mix screws all the way out? You must mean the latter as there's no way an Eddy 600 (1405 or 1406) can't be made to run so rich the engine will barely run - much less get 10-12 MPG.

My guess is that you are, as you said, quite new to carbs. Here's a link to the Edelbrock owner's manual that explains how to tune their carbs: http://www.edelbrock.com/automotive/...ers-manual.pdf If it were me, I'd put the Eddy back on and tune it as it is plenty of carb for a 302 - especially one in a truck and with your cam and heads.