Sponsored by: Moser

a few thing are wrong 6.6

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2015, 08:08 PM
my-ford
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
a few thing are wrong 6.6

its my first time be gentle..lol ok so i just did a compression test. this is what i got

this is all my first time.. i checked the timing with a timing light.i think i have it at 12 btdc,im not to sure how to read the marks.
i did all this because im getting a popping sound from the carb at high rpm.
i have a bad lifter,bad enough its not pumping very much oil at all.when i replaced the head gasket,i had the head checked and it past great.iv been reading for the past week what could cause the popping sound from carb and man there's a lot of things it could be lol. iv cheacked for vac leaks,and found a few small ones,but shouldn't be bad enough for these problems.when i got the engine the pvc valve was just caped,so i put a new pvc valve on it,but it doesn't matter if it has a pvc or not,it didn't change the way it ran at all.i have a 2bbl riged up for now i have a gas leaking 4bbl,i swapped carbs and the popping just got worst with the 4bbl...hope all this is enough info..thanks guys

Old 05-25-2015, 12:25 AM
Ozzie H.
Laughing Gas
Received 56 Likes on 48 Posts
Originally Posted by my-ford
its my first time be gentle..lol ok so i just did a compression test. this is what i got

this is all my first time.. i checked the timing with a timing light.i think i have it at 12 btdc,im not to sure how to read the marks.
i did all this because im getting a popping sound from the carb at high rpm.