Sponsored by: Moser

Engine Blueprinting/Designing

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2015, 12:22 PM
77_f250_custom
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine Blueprinting/Designing

Hey guys. I've got a question: I'm studying mechanical engineering right now, and hope to work with custom engine designs after I graduate. I really want to do some studying on engine blueprinting. This wont be my first experience, but I want to learn more than "bolt on this off the shelf part and assemble your motor". Anybody know of any good books that will detail out some of the finer points of engine parts choice/design?

Old 02-26-2015, 01:12 PM
bkaul
Posting Guru
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Is there a professor in your department that does any engine-related research? That would be a good place to start. At Rolla, we had an internal combustion engines class that was offered as a tech elective for upperclassmen. Then I ended up staying and doing my graduate research in the engine lab there too.

From an engineering perspective (rather than machining or repair - "blueprinting" is more a machining term referring to building race engines, and wouldn't be covered specifically, but the design side is):
Heywood is still the go-to standard book, even though it's getting older:
Internal Combustion Engine Fundamentals: J. Heywood: 9781259002076: Amazon.com: Books Internal Combustion Engine Fundamentals: J. Heywood: 9781259002076: Amazon.com: Books

Stone's isn't bad and is a little more recent:
Introduction to Internal Combustion Engines: Richard Stone: 9780768004953: Amazon.com: Books Introduction to Internal Combustion Engines: Richard Stone: 9780768004953: Amazon.com: Books

I have both, and reach for Heywood 90% of the time, but there are a couple of interesting bits in Stone about developments since Heywood was published.

Old 02-26-2015, 01:25 PM
bkaul
Posting Guru
This website gives a good explanation of what "blueprinting" is, though not a complete tutorial on how to do it.