Tennessee Chapter Join Chapter Leader: harleymsn

Potential new chapter leader and/or stand in until one is found

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2015, 06:57 PM
Greywolf
Fleet Owner
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Potential new chapter leader and/or stand in until one is found

I have been approached as a possible Chap Lead, and I have some experience with it both good and bad.
~HOWSOMEDANGEVER...

I worry that I would be back in the position I was once before where I was unable (at least for the near future) to get out to any meets because I am STILL standing up a set of wheels, and when I do get the new ride running, and registrated it ain't gonna be a truck, and it isn't even a ford - though I do have two ford truck projects going and viable, one of them completely and totally hog wild (the '89 Ranger V8 build).

Second, it seems like a Chapter Leader is thought to be the prime motivator and driver in a chapter, and I don't necessarily agree with that. Looking around the TN chapter I have noticed all sorts of good inputs, and they didn't have to come from a leader of any sort - they were just plain good ideas suggested or mentioned by Joe or Jane anybody...

The original description of a CL laid down by Ken Payne was that you had to be a mover and driver, MAKING things happen at FTE and in your chapter in particular. After all these years I almost pretty much don't think Tennessee works thattaway.

Today as it stands the job description reads like this:
Originally Posted by FTE/IB GUIDELINES
2. Leader Responsibilities: The Chapter Leader is responsible for seeking out new Chapter members on the FTE forums, overseeing the organization of events, meetings and gatherings, facilitating chapter growth and promoting the chapter on FTE. A chapter leader may delegate one or more of these tasks to chapter members.
* Far as I can see, if it was mine to do I'd delegate almost all of that.