6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Studs vs TTY Bolts

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2015, 11:17 PM
jerem0621
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Studs vs TTY Bolts

Howdy everyone

I have a question I can't really seem to find via searching. I've never done HG's on a diesel before.

The TTY bolts... are they easier for a home mechanic to tighten down properly vs Studs? My future 6.0 is going to be set up as a daily driver and occasional RV hauler.

I read a lot online about guys with 6.0's reusing their $450.00 studs. The main reason I can figure they reuse the studs is if the HG's pop, even with the ARP's.

If the ARP's still let HG's pop wouldn't it be more cost effective to use $20.00 TTY bolts vs expensive studs?

Thanks!

Jeremiah

Old 01-28-2015, 02:48 AM
Shaneb75
Strokin Okie

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
There are plenty of reasons HGs can still blow with ARPs, poor milling work, improper installation, non OEM HG, poor surface prep, and Tuners to name a few. At the end of the day there are one 10 bolts/studs holding the heads down.

If a person has a good machine shop that cares about what they are doing, properly preps the surfaces, bolt holes, uses OEM HG, basically does everything right there should be no reason to blow HG again when using studs even with a tuner. It's all about self control and common sense. IMO.

But, if you want to run around making 30lbs of boost everywhere you go, keep a HG fund handy.

I have only installed TTY bolts on a Chevrolet V6 and they were very easy to torque. The studs definitely takes some booty to get the to torque. At least with the new grease it is 210 ft lbs instead of 245 or what ever it used to be.

Old 01-28-2015, 07:17 AM
mudfuel06
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts