Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Diesel fired coolant heater

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2014, 03:48 PM
infinite-foamies
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Diesel fired coolant heater

I am a full time student in west new york and my campus has now here for me to plug in without being ticket or the cord being unplugged. So I am looking at a Perfection stove company diesel fired coolant heater.

Looking to get some thoughts?

This is for an 88' 7.3 IDI

Old 12-03-2014, 05:13 PM
Diesel_Brad
Fleet Owner
Received 59 Likes on 48 Posts
I have never heard of it, so I googled it. Last time it was brought up was in 02 and they all said it was more tousle than it is worth for the $1000 cost. Just make sure your glow plug system is working good and you will have no issues

Old 12-03-2014, 05:51 PM
infinite-foamies
Elder User
Originally Posted by Diesel_Brad
I have never heard of it, so I googled it. Last time it was brought up was in 02 and they all said it was more tousle than it is worth for the $1000 cost. Just make sure your glow plug system is working good and you will have no issues
Found one NOS for about $160...
My problem is my GP relay is working intermittently and the truck has an aftermarket turbo so to change the relay I believe I have to pull the turbo. has new plugs though. I want to not have to idle for so long for her to get warm before driving to mile to and from work every day.

Old 12-03-2014, 05:52 PM
UNTAMND
Logistics Pro
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I agree with brad. Make sure you're batteries and your glow plugs are good and you'll be fine. I've never plugged my truck in in winter, and Maine gets fairly cold at night.