6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Noob Fuel Additive Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2014, 11:42 AM
barthel
Elder User
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Noob Fuel Additive Question

Hey All,

Beofre you read further please know this is not a "Which is the best" question.

I used to have a V10 and ran Seafoam about every other tank to keep the injectors and top end clean. We bought an '06 F250 CC 6.0L with 76K mile on it. I'm doing the standard maintenance stuff now (fuel filters, oil filter, oil change with T6, trans filter, etc.). I have no real experience with diesels but have read enough to know that fuel additives seem to be pretty much a must. I think I've settled on the Stanadyne Performace formula but have 2 questions.

First, since I don't know the maintenance history of this truck, would it be a good idea to run a bottle of injector cleaner through it first? I don't how the truck will react but know that the first long trip I will be pulling my toy hauler. Is running injector cleaner while towing a bad idea?

Next, do I put in the additive at every fuel fill up, or is it an occasional thing?

Thanks in advance,

Old 11-13-2014, 12:26 PM
dannyboy950
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Additives

To me most of them are pure snake oil. But you mention 2 that I do believe in.
The only thing with them is once you do start useing additives you have too keep useing it with every tank full. They seem to get addicted to it.

Kinda like the industrial diesels useing starting fluid once you start you have to keep useing it until it gets to a point they won't start without it.

Just my own pet pieve tho.

Old 11-13-2014, 01:03 PM
zhilton
Postmaster
Originally Posted by barthel
I think I've settled on the Stanadyne Performace formula but have 2 questions.