6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

Maintenance chaos

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2014, 02:53 PM
fyredude
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Maintenance chaos

First, an apology to those who might be offended. You all know I'm new to diesels. Let's start with the flush. One would flush to clean out the system. Now, do we run the flush with or without the t-stat. How do you get it to temperature without the t-stat unless you're in the desert? If you were successful in getting it to temp with the t-stat in, does all the stuff settle back down while you're waiting for it to cool enough to remove the t-stat and do a complete circulatory wash. Have read that all that crap circulating has to get caught somewhere (oil cooler) so in the aftermath of the flush, plan an replacing the oil cooler. I thought I was cleaning it by doing the flush. If my delta are marginally out, it seems to me that doing the flush just guarantees that I will be replacing expensive parts. On the other hand, replacing the parts without doing the flush almost assures I'll replace the parts again. Holy ----!

Old 09-02-2014, 03:24 PM
joe blow
Cargo Master
Received 337 Likes on 209 Posts
I haven't done this but the way I understand it:

The VC-9 flush combo is done with the t/stat in to the bottles' instructions....the vehicle is driven until it comes to temp.....the draining process begins, the t/stat is removed, the block drains are removed (and replaced with fumotos that fit those thread pitches for future drains) and the system is flushed thoroughly with distilled water for a while until it runs clear. The oil cooler is changed out and the system is topped up with ELC concentrate (3.5 gallons I believe) since the block is full of distilled water already and then the coolant is tested to confirm concentration.